Support Academic Progress

Expand Academic Advising

Reform and expand academic advising services to support all student populations and improve student success. Initiatives will include hiring of additional professional advisors to increase the quality of advising and bring the campus closer to the national advising ratio. Other initiatives may include professional development and release time to support additional faculty advisors. Initiatives will be aligned to the goals of the strategic plan.

2014-15 2015-16 2016-17 2017-18 2018-2019
On Track On Track On Track On Track  

 

Progress and Accomplishments

College of the Arts

     Victoria Cafasso
     vcafasso@fullerton.edu    

     Laney Kurator
     lkurator@fullerton.edu

Computer Engineering

     Alisia Kirkwood
     akirkwood@fullerton.edu

Health and Human Development           

     Henry Flores
     heflores@fullerton.edu 

     Mary Lehn-Mooney
     mlehn-mooney@fullerton.edu 

College of Business and Economics

     Ashley Stilley
     astilley@fullerton.edu 

Irvine Campus

     Shelly Hsu
     shsu@fullerton.edu 

College of Communications

     Axis Avalos
     axavalos@fullerton.edu     

     Tammy Rogers
     trogers@fullerton.edu 

 

Engineering and Computer Science

     Korntee Burrell
     kburrell@fullerton.edu

     Eizabeth Gomez
     elgomez@fullerton.edu 

College of Humanities and Social Sciences

     Cathy Dionaldo
     cdionaldo@fullerton.edu 

     Daija Foard
     dfoard@fullerton.edu

     Mai Warren
     mwarren@fullerton.edu 

College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

     Sam Barrazo
     sbarrozo@fullerton.edu 

     Tatiana Pedroza
     tapedroza@fullerton.edu 

Special Populations

     Danny Juarez
     djuarez@fullerton.edu 

2018-2019 Plan for the Year Report

Description Plan Staff Budget Allocation Expenses Balance

1. Academic Programs, in collaboration with the academic colleges, will retain and/or fill any vacancies for the graduation and retention specialist positions.
2. Graduation Specialists will provide Mandatory Academic Advising Workshops to approximately 2,300 students holding 78-84 units.
3. Retention and Graduation Specialists will hold off on launching their next gap-closing campaigns, first engaging students in strategically designed focus groups toward careful planning of the next round of campaigns.
4. Retention and Graduation Specialists will implement U.Direct degree planning software tools.
5. Student Success Team Steering Committee meetings will continue to be held monthly to discuss strategies and tactics to support student success.
6. The Student Success Team Working Group will continue to meet monthly, taking actions to inform the SST Steering Committee.
7. Faculty training and engagement with the Student Success Teams and academic advising in particular. (NEW) 8. Graduate Programs will provide Graduate Learning Specialists (tutoring and academic coaching) to 1500 students, Orientation programs (workshops) to 1000 new graduate students, mentoring to 125 at-risk graduate students as part of the Faculty/Graduate Mentoring Program, and 450 hours of advising to graduate students in the Graduate Student Success Center.

 

Academic Advising: Continue regular operations: January and July outreach to the non-enrolled; annual reporting of the prevented graduation deferrals; advance the development of the collaborative faculty development career and academic advising program and recognition program workshop series October 29-February 5 (recognition event will be March 5, 2019); promote adoption of TitanNet functionalities; sustain full staffing of graduation and retention specialists; lead annual Student Success Team retreat in February. Collaborate with ASI on Student Success Stampede in March or April 2019.

Graduate Studies: The 2018-1019 goals for Graduate Programs will focus on advising, tutoring, and workshop attendance by graduate students. Graduate Learning Specialists will provide 1800 hours of tutoring/academic coaching for students, and staff will provide 500 hours of general advising through the Graduate Student Success Center and OGS office. Graduate Orientations will provide information and workshops for 600 new graduate students. Faculty Mentors will provide mentoring for 100 graduate students who may be at risk for academic difficulty.
 

 

 

 

Tab E

Student Success Center Map